Transforming Agriculture, Perennially
Donate

Staff

Tara Sauber

Controller

Tara Sauber has lived in many states but considers Kansas her home. She holds both a BS degree majoring in Accounting and a MAcc (Masters of Accounting) from Kansas State University, in addition to a CPA (Certified Public Accountant) certificate. She has a wide variety of work experience, with experience from each position playing a role in preparing her to positively impact TLI. During college, she worked for several years as an Accountant for a non-profit. After graduating, she worked in public accounting with a focus in auditing, specifically in the non-profit industry. Moving back home to Kansas,  she was a Financial Analyst for several years, and most recently was a Deputy Finance Director in the Government industry of Salina.  She says, “These positions have helped me to learn accounting from the GROUND UP!!”

Q&A

What’s most inspiring about your specific position at TLI?
Using my education and past work experience to provide meaningful and timely information to TLI. Collaborating with others to identify processes that may be improved to increase efficiency.

What drew you to work at TLI?
I am excited to work toward common goals, with a great team at TLI; helping to make the world a better place.

What’s one aspect of your life history that most people don’t know or wouldn’t expect?
After years of being on the hunt, in 2019, my Mom and I were co-founders of the Smoky Hill River Festival Medallion!

What else are you passionate about (outside of work)?
I’m passionate about family! I love to watch our two boys play sports and enjoy volunteering at their school. Our family bleeds purple, we love to attend Kansas State sporting events…GO WILDCATS!!!  I enjoy running and my goal is to run a half marathon in every state (four states completed).  I love to be outdoors: hiking, camping, swimming, sitting by a campfire, walking on a beach.  I enjoy planting flowers and gardening.  I find peace in watching the sunrise and sunset.

What were you like at age 10?
A tomboy! When I was 10, my favorite place to be was on the farm with my Grandma, Grandpa, and playing with cousins.  My Mom was the 11th of 12 children, so there were plenty of kids to play with!  I enjoyed basketball on the dirt covered court in their backyard, playing countless card games, bottle feeding the pigs, helping to drive the tractor, riding in the back of Grandpa’s truck to feed cattle, and fishing at the farm pond.

Support the work of Tara and others at The Land Institute with a donation.

DONATE

Share On: Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Select other ways to share